Reach Out To Members of the Senate Insurance Committee to Express Your Support for Brick & Mortar Bill (SB 180)

Dear Valued LAILTA Member:

Our lobbyist Kevin Hays has informed our Legislative Committee that LAILTA’s Brick & Mortar bill (SB 180), attached here, has been set for committee hearing on Wednesday, May 13, 2020.

SB 180, sponsored by Senator Jay Morris, and resulting from a collaboration between the Department of Insurance and the Louisiana Association of Independent Land Title Agents aims to clearly define the “Individual Producer” and “Agency Producer” roles already in existence; and create clear qualifications and licensing requirements for becoming a Louisiana title producer – including pre-licensing education requirements, record keeping, and residency or employment.  This bill will ensure title producers are properly qualified and educated in the areas of law relevant to land title in Louisiana, and have sufficient interests here in our state to provide continued access and service to consumers and other agents as needed after the transaction is complete a policy is issued.  This bill also facilitates DOI audit and oversight in an efficient and cost effective manner.

The Board of Directors strongly encourage you to reach out to the members of the Senate Insurance Committee and express your support for this bill.  The names and contact information for the members of the Senate Insurance Committee are below for your convenience, and a copy of the bill is attached for your reference.

Senator Kirk Talbot (Chairman)
River Ridge, LA 70123
(504) 736-7299
Senator Katrina Jackson
Monroe, LA 71203-4526
(318) 343-2877
Senator “Louie” Bernard (Vice-Chairman)
Natchitoches, LA 71457
(318) 357-3116
Senator Robert Mills
Minden, LA 71055
(318) 371-5200
Senator Joe Bouie
New Orleans, LA 70122
(504) 286-1033
Senator Barrow Peacock
Bossier City, LA 71112
(318) 741-7180
(318) 582-5524
Senator Gary Smith
Norco, LA 70079
(985) 764-9122
(985) 858-2979
Senator Ronnie Johns (Ex-Officio)
Lake Charles, LA 70602
(337) 491-2016

Thank you for your time and consideration,

On behalf of the Board of LAILTA

Chad F. Reynolds


Louisiana Association of Independent Land Title Agents